Why do I run?

I remember being at work on April 15, 2013, gathering news like I normally did, when an alert was issued of a possible bombing at the Boston Marathon. There were in fact two homemade bombs that killed three people.  Several hundred others were injured, including 16 others who lost limbs. Needless to say, it was a tough day at work and the weeks to follow.  I remember crying as I heard several inspirational stories from some individuals who lost limbs, saying they would run again.

IMG_2419

(Photo credit: John Thumacki/The Boston Globe/AP)

That is the moment I decided I WILL RUN for those who can’t! I signed up for my first Aramco Half Marathon and completed my run in January 2014!

Fast forward to January 2018, I completed my 5th Aramco Half Marathon and my older son, Joshua, ran his third one.  He saw his mom tackle it and wanted to join in!

26238756_10215254867111710_1805316321617371481_n

We all have our reasons on why we embark on OUR journeys. My story is simple but important because the hope those strangers shared to the world, inspired me to get moving.  So when I begin to feel tired during my long runs, I think of those who lost their lives and those who chose to fight back with vengeance to regain their life back and that keeps me going!

I will continue to run to stay healthy, to remember the victims and to inspire those around me that believe they can’t!

IMG_2420

I bought this T-shirt from my amazing friend, Heidi Jones, who worked with an organization to raise funds for the victims of the bombing.

 

 

 

Leave a comment